

APPROVED

Meeting Minutes January 15, 2025

MEMBERS PRESENT

MEMBERS ABSENT

Greg Helms, Alternate

Curt Enestvedt, Chair Mike Hughes, Vice Chair Scott Thureen, Secretary/Treasurer Rollie Greeno Todd Christopherson Paul Below, Alternate

OTHERS PRESENT

Greg Williams – Barr Engineering
Jared Shephard – Campbell Knutson
Brian Hartman – City of Apple Valley
Joe Barten – Dakota County Soil & Water Conservation District
Daryl Jacobson – BDWMO Administrator
Tammi Carte – BDWMO Secretary

Curt Enestvedt, Chair, called the January 15, 2025, meeting to order at 5:00pm.

I. Approval of Agenda

Motion by Thureen, second by Greeno, to approve the January 15, 2025, Agenda as presented.

Ayes – Enestvedt, Hughes, Thureen, Greeno, Christopherson Nays – None

Motion Carried Unanimously

II. Approval of Minutes from the November 20, 2024, Meeting

Motion by Hughes, second by Greeno, to approve the November 20, 2024, Minutes as presented.

Ayes – Enestvedt, Hughes, Thureen, Greeno, Christopherson

Nays - None

Motion Carried Unanimously

III. Approval of Accounts Payable

Motion by Thureen, second by Hughes, to approve accounts payable to Barr Engineering in the amount of \$2,170.00 for services from November 2, 2024, through December 27, 2024; and, to Campbell Knutson in the amount of \$157.50 for November 2024 general services; and, to Metropolitan Council in the amount of \$3,040.00 for CAMP; and, to Dakota County Soil & Water Conservation District in the amount of \$12,025.00 for services July 2024 through September 2024 and services October 2024 through December 2024.

```
Ayes – Enestvedt, Hughes, Thureen, Greeno, Christopherson
Nays – None
```

Motion Carried Unanimously

IV. Review Budget Performance Reports

Daryl Jacobson, BDWMO Administrator, shared that we are finishing 2024 payables to close the year in time for the audit scheduled for early 2025.

No Formal Action Required

V. Election of Officers for 2025

The Black Dog WMO Joint Powers Agreement requires that officers be elected each year. Currently the officers are:

```
Chair – Curt Enestvedt
Vice Chair – Mike Hughes
Secretary/Treasurer – Scott Thureen
```

Officer nominations are Curt Enestvedt for Chair, Mike Hughes for Vice-Chair, and Scott Thureen for Secretary/Treasurer. Commissioners present were Curt Enestvedt, Mike Hughes, Scott Thureen, Todd Christopherson and Greg Helms.

Motion by Greeno, second by Christopherson, to elect Curt Enestvedt as Commission Chair, Mike Hughes as Commission Vice-Chair, and Scott Thureen as Commission Secretary/Treasurer for the 2025 term.

```
Ayes – Enestvedt, Hughes, Thureen, Greeno, Christopherson
Nays – None
```

Motion Carried Unanimously

VI. Approval of Engineering Fees for 2025

A copy of the Barr Engineering letter outlining the proposed 2025 fee schedule was provided to the Commission for review prior to this meeting.

Motion by Hughes, second by Thureen, to approve the Barr Engineering Fee Schedule for 2025.

```
Ayes – Enestvedt, Hughes, Thureen, Greeno, Christopherson
Nays – None
```

Motion Carried Unanimously

VII. Approval of Official Depositories for Commission Funds

Auditors recommend the Commission designate official depositories for its funds on an annual basis. Current depositories are the US Bank in St. Paul and the League of MN Cities 4M Fund. These depositories have served the commission well and staff recommends continuing with them.

Motion by Christopherson, second by Hughes, to approve the US Bank in St. Paul and the League of MN Cities 4M Fund as the official depositories for the Black Dog WMO funds for 2025.

Ayes – Enestvedt, Hughes, Thureen, Greeno, Christopherson Nays – None

Motion Carried Unanimously

VIII. Approval of Official Newspaper for the Black Dog WMO

The JPA requires the Commission designate an official newspaper. In 2024, the Black Dog WMO used the Sun Thisweek as its official newspaper. Historically the same official newspaper as the City of Burnsville has been adopted because that community represents the majority of land within the WMO. Staff recommends the Commission continue with the Sun Thisweek as the official newspaper. Items typically published in the official newspaper are public notices.

Motion by Hughes, second by Greeno, to approve the Burnsville Sun Thisweek as the official Black Dog WMO newspaper for 2025.

Ayes – Enestvedt, Hughes, Thureen, Greeno, Christopherson Nays – None

Motion Carried Unanimously

IX. <u>Discuss Potential Stories for the Annual Watershed Report</u>

Greg Williams, Barr Engineering, lead the discussion on potential topics to include in the 2024 Watershed Report. Barr recommends the ongoing inclusion of Watershed Based Implementation Funding (WBIF) projects. Other Commissioner suggestions include goal tracking updates, a writeup about the BDWMO contribution to Vermillion River Watershed for groundwater conservation, an update on the Keller Lake water quality trend analysis, information on groundwater protection and landscaping for clean water.

No Formal Action Required

X. Miscellaneous

- 1. Jared Shephard Campbell Knutson will be representing the WMO as legal counsel. Jared proposes only attending the Black Dog meetings on an on-call basis. Commissioners agree with this recommendation.
- 2. The next Black Dog WMO meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, February 19, 2025.
- 3. Keller Lake a survey was performed on the lake to determine the goldfish population. The report results recommend removal of the goldfish. There will be a future discussion about the BDWMO paying for the removal.
- 4. Joe Barten Dakota County Soil & Water Conservation District spoke about the chloride outreach the County is doing. They have printed Smart Salt brochures to be placed into libraries.

5. Todd Christopherson, Black Dog Commissioner, announced he no longer lives in Burnsville and because of that he is resigning from the Commission. He is appreciative of the time he's spent serving on the BDWMO. Thank you, Todd, for your commitment and time representing Burnsville on the Commission.

XI. Adjournment

Motion by Greeno, second by Hughes, to adjourn at 5:31pm.

Ayes – Enestvedt, Hughes, Thureen, Greeno, Christopherson Nays – None

Motion Carried Unanimously